The Official National Mammal of the U.S.A.

“Man needs spiritual expression and nourishing…even in the prehistoric era, people would scrawl pictures of bison on the walls of caves.”

~ Fernando Botero, (1932- ) Columbian Artist

AS4A0704-1

The National Bison Legacy Act was signed into law on May 9, 2016 by President Barack Obama, making the bison the official national mammal of the United States. This handsome and powerful animal has been recognized for its important role in our national history. Cool!

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.