Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

Instead of a quote, today I share with you a brief clip from a 1950’s television show, The Honeymooners.  Characters Ralph Kramden (Jackie Gleason) and Ed Norton (Art Carney) are meeting for lunch in the park when Ed spots a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker.

(Television clip found on YouTube.com)

I grew up believing that a bird with this curious name was merely fictional. To me, the name was invented by a television writer to add humor to this particular sketch on The Honeymooners.

Fast forward to the summer of 2015 when I caught a shot of this bird.  I had not seen it before.  Imagine my surprise to learn that it was in fact a real Yellow-bellied Sapsucker.  Wow!

So, I guess this is what Ed Norton was looking at in the park that day with his binoculars.

AS4A5294-1

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.