Rough-legged Hawk

“Behold my friends, the spring is come; the earth has gladly received the embraces of the sun, and we shall soon see the results of their love!”

~ Sitting Bull (1831-1890) Chief of the Lakota Sioux Nation

AS4A1283-1
Rough-legged Hawk taking a look at me and my camera.

AS4A1256-1AS4A1243-1

The Rough-legged Hawk breeds in the arctic during the summer months, but winters in the U.S. and southern Canada.  I feel fortunate whenever I see one in the spring as it migrates north back through Minnesota.

This handsome bird had a partner off in the distance.  I’m hoping their nesting season is a successful one!

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.

1 Response

Comments are closed.