Predatory Songbird

“I never dreamed about success.  I worked for it.”

~Estee Lauder (1908-2004) American businesswoman and recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom

(Quote via Goodreads.com)

AS4A9677-1-2

The Northern Shrike summers in the northern reaches of Canada and Alaska.  It only appears in Minnesota when it returns to the lower 48 during winter.  The size of a medium songbird, this carnivorous creature feeds on rodents, small birds, and large insects. (Source: allaboutbirds.org)

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.