Guardian Donkey

“You can’t test courage cautiously.”

~ Anne Dillard (1945- ) American author and Pulitzer Prize winner

AS4A7373-1

Meet one of the defenders of this Minnesota cattle farm.  Donkeys are not fond of canines and this dislike extends to coyotes and wolves as well.  Western ranchers have used donkeys to guard herds and ward off predators for years, but this is a relatively new practice here in the midwest.  The Minnesota farmer who owns this handsome fellow has another donkey as well.  He shared that coyotes and wolves have become a greater problem for him in the last ten years and his pair of donkeys have been extremely beneficial to keeping his cows and calves safe.

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.