eBird

“The Internet is becoming the town square for the global village of tomorrow.”

~ Bill Gates (1955- ) Co-founder of Microsoft

AS4A9706-1(Red-tailed hawk gliding over cornfields on a day in spring.)

As a nature-lover I am interested in supporting efforts that are beneficial to our natural world.  Recently I have spent some time acquainting myself with a site called eBird.   Sponsored by groups such as the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and National Audubon Society, eBird is a real-time, online checklist program that has revolutionized the way that the birding community reports and accesses information about birds.

By joining the site you can:

  • Record the birds you see
  • Keep track of your bird lists
  • Explore dynamic maps and graphs
  • Share your sightings and join the eBird community
  • Contribute to science and conservation

The use of this global tool is absolutely free.  I’m having fun with it and encourage others with an interest in birds to explore this site as well.

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.