Pileated Woodpecker

“God has strewn our path with wonders and we certainly should not go through life with our eyes shut.”

~Alexander Graham Bell (1847-1922) Scottish-born scientist, inventor, engineer and innovator who is credited with patenting the first telephone

AS4A1205-1-2

Here you see a Pileated Woodpecker showing off her winter’s work.

Pileated Woodpeckers are the largest woodpecker in North America.  They feed on insects and berries.  It is not unusual for them to excavate deep into rotten wood to get at the nests of carpenter ants as is obvious in this photo.  When I first noticed this woodpecker on this tree, the hole was about the size of a dinner plate.   She has been a busy bird!

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.