Black-capped Chickadee

“We learned to be patient observers like the owl.  We learned cleverness from the crow; and courage from the jay, who will attack an owl ten times its size to drive it off its territory. But, above all of them ranked the chickadee because of its indomitable spirit.”

~Tom Brown, Jr. (1950- ) American naturalist, tracker, survivalist, and author

AS4A2606-1

Anyone who gardens around chickadees can tell you about the curiosity and the pluck of this little bird.  Whether I am digging in the dirt on my hands and knees, walking through the yard with a garden hose to water, or scrubbing out the bird bath with a wire brush I  will regularly witness a chickadee on a nearby branch peering at me in a quizzical manner.  They tilt their head and look at you with just one of their eyes as if to say, “Who are you and what are you doing here?”  I think of them as my little guardians of the garden and enjoy their antics immensely.

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.

4 Responses

Comments are closed.