Imogen Cunningham

ImogenCunningham

Imogen Cunningham (1883-1976) was named by her father after the heroine of Shakespeare’s play, Cymbeline. She was an American photographer known for her photography of botanicals, nudes and industry.

Cunningham began her lengthy career in 1901 after sending away for a $15 camera. Her photographic work was varied and included numerous exhibitions, a career with Vanity Fair, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Even at the age of 92, Cunningham continued to create with a work that would be her last, a book entitled  After Ninety. The book featured portraits of the elderly, many of whom were her friends.

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.