My Austrian Pine

“People in suburbia see trees differently than foresters do.  They church every one.  It is useless to speak of the probability that a certain tree will die when the tree is in someone’s backyard.  You are talking about a personal asset, a friend, a monument — not about board feet of lumber.”

~Roger Swain, former television host of The Victory Garden on PBS

AS4A1587-1-2

I completely agree with Roger Swain’s statement. This hawk took shelter from a recent snowstorm by landing in an Austrian Pine that grows in my backyard.  Over the years this particular tree has played host to countless birds and squirrels in all sorts of weather.  It has provided me with shade in the summer and been a joy to observe after a fresh snowfall.

I’m guessing it is close to 50 years old now and its age is beginning to show.  The last couple years there has been less new growth and fewer pine cones, but I continue to do what I can to keep it alive.  I know that I will not see another tree of this size in my backyard during my lifetime again.

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.

2 Responses

Comments are closed.