It’s cold!

“The cold never bothered me anyway.”  ~Elsa, movie Frozen

AS4A8740-1

As I drove by a frozen wetland, I noticed some unfamiliar and very still brown lumps.  I stopped my car to take a closer look on this frigid day in Minnesota.  The lumps turned out to be a group of turkeys dozing in the bright sunshine.  They awoke to the sound of me pulling my car off to the side of the road, but were slower than usual in making their customary get-away.  Here they look at me in a slightly drowsy state.

I am regularly amazed that any living thing survives outside in Minnesota during the winter when the windchill drops well below zero!

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.