Contentment

AS4A0664-1

This was the first time that I had ever viewed a real bison!  My husband and I were driving through Theodore Roosevelt National Park in North Dakota.  We happened upon this big guy basking  in the sun and stopped to take a photo.  It was only then that I noticed all of the sweet little prairie dogs running around him.  Such a contrast the two species were to one another, but both accepted the presence of the other.  They also seemed content with letting me and my husband just watch them for awhile.  So, there we all were — the humans, the bison, and the prairie dogs.  A pleasant moment for me permanently captured.

(Don’t worry!  I did not leave my car to approach this handsome animal. I have too much respect for his power.)

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.