The Most Important Resource

AS4A2538-46-1
Other than cropping, I have not retouched this photo in any way.  When I first uploaded it to my computer I was astounded at just how blue the water appeared.  This shot is of a lake that I occasionally visit.  I took it in October.  Perhaps the cool fall weather and the angle of the sun has something to do this vibrant blue color?  I’m not sure, but I did love the result. I could sit on the shores of a lake for hours watching its movement, the change in the skies above it, the stages of the sun crossing it, and the animals and birds that live around it.  Living in the state with 10,000 lakes has certainly made me appreciative of lakes and the ecosystems they support.  Water is so precious to life.

In February of 2015, National Geographic magazine published a special issue focused on the subject of water.  I learned from this issue that the primary way all of us will experience climate change will be through the water cycle — droughts, floods, depleted rivers, shrinking reservoirs, dried-out soils, melting glaciers, loss of snowpack and overall shortages of water to grow our food and supply our cities.  I decided I wanted to make a positive difference, so I took a quiz that the magazine offered. I learned a few things about myself and hope to make some changes in my daily life to conserve water.  If you are interested in taking the quiz too, here is the link to it:

http://environment.nationalgeographic.com/environment/freshwater/change-the-course/water-footprint-calculator/

As always, I thank you for stopping by!

About chickadee1220

My name is Mara. I am Minnesota born and raised. Four seasons, forests, farms, and 10,000 lakes have given me a deep appreciation for nature. Photography helps me to share this love with others. And, once in awhile, I find myself interested in sociology. Go figure.